FabLabNet

FabLabNet aims to foster international networks and links both with schools and businesses. The project joins a number of fablabs into a central European network: 9 project partners - inspired by and strictly connected to 11 associated partners - share experiences and develop activities to boost their knowledge and capacity, following trends set by the European movement that emphasizes new business models, and marks the difference in current cultural & business world.

Further information on the project website.

ACTO

Evaluation of modular Actuated Tangible User Interfaces

In recent years "Tangible Computing" has evolved to an active research area in the field of human-computer-interaction. The intention is the design of intuitive and meaningful user interfaces by linking virtual and physically real objects: virtual objects are interlinked with a physical representation, which makes it easier to experience, feel and manipulate them.

Usually physical objects, namely "Tabletop Tangible User Interface Objects" (short TUIOs), are used on an interactive work surface for manipulating virtual objects or models. Almost all existing systems employ physical objects for interaction only as input, allowing the user to communicate changes to the system. Changes of the virtual objects on the other hand are not reported to the user in a similar way, since usually TUIOs don't have any output channels. For example they are not able to reposition themselves automatically on the working surface. Self positioning TUIOs, so-called "Actuated TUIOs", have been researched only sparsely so far; all existing solutions have significant technical limitations.

In the course of this project new and highly modular Actuated TUIOs will be developed and in collaboration with students equipped with flexible extensions. This kind of tangible interaction is very motivating, especially for children and adolescents, which makes it ideal for educational applications. In such educational applications, which will be conceptualized in close collaboration with students and teachers, the actuated TUIOs as well as the new and intuitive interaction techniques based thereon will be evaluated.

AAS Endurance

A robotic sailing boat to do research on marine mammals

The aim of the joint research project of INNOC and Oregon State University is to develop an autonomous sailing boat to act as a maritime research platform for passive-acoustic monitoring (PAM) of marine mammals.

AAS Endurance is a flexible, multi-sensor platform suitable for use in research on a wide range of ecological issues. The system offers a number of significant advantages over previously used autonomous platforms for research on marine mammals, for instance with respect to speed, room for scientific equipment and a continuous supply of energy for long-term missions. On the other hand, use of a sailing boat entails new challenges, such as reliable recognition and avoidance of obstacles as well as energy self-sufficiency, which will be examined in this project.

Pupils from the Higher Technical College Spengergasse in Vienna will gain extensive insights into an international and multi-disciplinary research project. Both current marine biology issues as well as basic technological principles of autonomous obstacle recognition will be covered in the classroom. During field tests by the sea, students will be able to work alongside the scientists and experience first hand how exciting and varied scientific work is.

Centrobot is a cross-border initiative of research and educational institutions from the Vienna-Bratislava region. The aim of the project is to position the region as an international centre of excellence for Robotics, the industry of the future.

The Centrobot project comprises international competitions in the Vienna-Bratislava region, a world championship and a European championship.

Further, the low-threshold entry into robotics is made possible by operating an open research and development laboratory in Vienna. The R&D infrastructure is complemented by a virtual, Internet-based robotics laboratory in Bratislava.

Two scientific conferences as well as three summer schools aimed at encouraging the young and talented top the programme off. An exchange programme within the educational sector will generate sustainable, cross-border ties and close the gap between school and university education and scientific research.

The development of a Robotics Education Platform including instructional concepts will contribute to the programme substantially. The project is also intended to support the realisation of promising ideas.

RobotChallenge is the one of the world's biggest competition for self-made, autonomous, and mobile robots. More than 500 robots from all over the world are expected for the next RobotChallenge in Vienna.

The RobotChallenge is an event hosted by the Austrian Society for innovative Computer Science (InnoC) in cooperation with the Austrian Ministry of Science. The young talents' enthusiasm for science and research is a great concern of both the partners.

The RobotChallenge offers suitable contests for beginners as well as for experienced robot designer. In addition to the possibility of exchanging ideas and innovations within an international group of participants there is also an excited audience as reward for the months of work in the area of informatics, electronics, mechanics and artificial intelligence.

Roboat

The ASV Roboat is the world's leading Robotic sailboat and has been in development by a INNOC research team since 2006.

Robotic sail boats perform the complex manoeuvres of sailing fully automatically and without human assistance. Starting off by calculating the best route based on weather data and going on to independent tacking and jibing, stand-alone sailing boats are able to sail through to any and every destination. The human being merely has to enter the destination coordinates. 

The team won several international competitions and is the current World Champion in robotic sailing.

Possible Applications of the Roboat Technology

  • Intelligent Sensor Buoys
  • Safety on Sailing Boats
  • CO2-neutral in Transportation of the Goods
  • Reconnaissance and Surveillance
  • The Boat as Sailing Instructor
  • Comfort on Board
  • Supply Vessel

Happylab

The Happylab is a meeting place and workshop in Vienna for young people and adults interested in technology. Here, in a relaxed atmosphere, ideas can emerge, be discussed and immediately implemented. Just drop in!

Happylab principles

  • Meaningful pastime
  • Low threshold application
  • Open access
  • No technical limitations
  • Previous knowledge explicitly not necessary
  • Self-determined learning
  • Bottom-up: priorities are determined by the community

How can I make use of the Happylab?

You want to exchange thoughts with other technophiles? You want to realise your ideas in a straightforward way? You just don't have the necessary space to tinker and develop? You need particular equipment for your project? You prefer to work with others?

The Happylab can be used daily, around the clock. The first time that you come, it would be better to drop in on a Happy Evening (Wednesdays from 6.00 p.m.).

ACTO

Evaluierung von Modularen Actuated Tangible User Interfaces

"Tangible Computing" hat sich in den letzten Jahren zu einem aktiven Forschungsfeld im Bereich Mensch-Computer-Interaktion entwickelt. Das Ziel ist die Entwicklung intuitiver und ausdrucksstarker Bedienschnittstellen durch stärkere Kopplung von physischen und virtuellen Objekten: virtuellen Gegenständen wird eine physische Repräsentation verliehen, mittels derer sie leichter erfahrbar, spürbar und manipulierbar gemacht werden können.

Meist werden physische Objekte, sogenannte "Tabletop Tangible User Interface Objects" (kurz TUIOs), auf einer interaktiven Arbeitsfläche benutzt um virtuelle Objekte und Modelle zu manipulieren. Fast alle vorhandenen Systeme verwenden physische Interaktionsobjekte nur zur Eingabe um Änderungen durch einen Benutzer an das System weiterzuleiten. Änderungen der virtuellen Objekte können nicht in gleicher Weise an die Benutzer zurückgegeben werden, da die TUIOs über keinerlei Ausgabekanäle verfügen, sich beispielsweise nicht automatisch auf der Interaktionsfläche repositionieren können.  Selbst positionierbare TUIOs, genannt "Actuated" (engl. in Gang gebracht, ausgelöst, betätigt) TUIOs wurden bisher wenig erforscht, alle existierenden Lösungen haben große technische Einschränkungen.

... weiter mit ACTO ...

Im Rahmen dieses Projekts sollen neue, sehr modulare Actuated TUIOs entwickelt und gemeinsam mit Schüler/innen mit flexiblen Erweiterungen versehen werden. Diese Art der greifbaren Interaktion ist vor allem für Kinder und Jugendliche sehr motivierend und ist daher prädestiniert für Lernanwendungen. In lernpädagogischen Anwendungen, die mit Schüler/innen und Lehrer/innen konzipiert werden, werden Actuated TUIOs und darauf basierende neue, intuitive Interaktionstechniken evaluiert.

AAS Endurance

Ein Robotersegelboot zur Erforschung von Meeressäugern

Gemeinsames Forschungsziel von INNOC und der Oregon State University ist die Entwicklung eines autonomen Segelbootes als maritime Forschungs-plattform für passiv-akustisches Monitoring (PAM) von Meeressäugern.

Die AAS Endurance ist eine flexible Multi-Sensor-Plattform, die sich für die Untersuchung weitreichender ökologischer Fragen eignet. Das System bietet eine Reihe wesentlicher Vorteile gegenüber bisher eingesetzter autonomer Plattformen für die Erforschung von marinen Säugern, etwa in Bezug auf Geschwindigkeit, Platz für wissenschaftliche Ausrüstung und dauerhafte Energieversorgung für Langzeitmissionen. Durch Verwendung eines Segelbootes ergeben sich andererseits neue Herausforderungen, etwa eine zuverlässige Erkennung und Vermeidung von Hindernissen und Energieautarkie, die in diesem Projekt behandelt werden.

SchülerInnen der Informatikabteilung der HTL Spengergasse werden durch ihre Mitarbeit einen weitreichenden Einblick in ein internationales und multidisziplinäres Forschungsprojekt bekommen. Im Unterricht werden sowohl aktuelle Fragestellungen der Meeresbiologie als auch technologische Grundlagen zur autonomen Hinderniserkennung thematisiert. Bei Feldtests am Meer können die SchülerInnen gemeinsam mit den Wissenschaftern hautnah miterleben, wie spannend und abwechslungsreich wissenschaftliches Arbeiten ist.

Das Projekt Centrobot umfasst internationale Roboterwettbewerbe in der Region Wien-Bratislava, eine Welt- und eine Europameisterschaft. Weiters wird der niederschwellige Zugang zur Robotik durch den Betrieb eines offenen Forschungs- und Entwicklungslabors in Wien ermöglicht.

Die Forschung- und Entwicklungsinfrastruktur wird durch ein virtuelles internetbasiertes Robotik-Labor in Bratislava ergänzt. Zwei wissenschaftliche Konferenzen sowie drei Sommerakademien zur Nachwuchs- und Talenteförderung runden das Programm ab.

Ein Austauschprogramm im Bildungsbereich soll grenzüberschreitend nachhaltige Verbindungen knüpfen und die Lücke zwischen schulischer und universitärer Ausbildung und der wissenschaftlichen Forschung schließen. Die Entwicklung einer Robotik Education Plattform inklusive didaktischer Konzepte soll dazu einen substanziellen Beitrag leisten. Das Projekt möchte auch dabei unterstützen, vielversprechenden Ideen zur Umsetzung zu verhelfen.

Wissenschaftliche Ergebnisse des Projekts sollen durch Veröffentlichung auf wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen oder in Fachzeitschriften der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht werden. Alle oben genannten Aktivitäten werden von PR Maßnahmen begleitet, um Technologie und Wissenschaft einem breiten Publikum begreifbar und erlebbar zu machen.

Die RobotChallenge ist einer der größten Wettbewerbe für selbstgebaute, autonome und mobile Roboter weltweit und wird jährlich von INNOC in Wien veranstaltet. Über 500 Roboter aus der ganzen Welt werden zur nächsten RobotChallenge in Wien.

Ziel ist es, junge Talente für den kreativen Umgang mit innovativen Technologien, Forschung und Wissenschaft im Allgemeinen zu begeistern. Experimente und praktische Erfahrungen lassen Teilnehmer und Zuschauer gelebte Wissenschaft hautnah erleben.

Die RobotChallenge bietet sowohl für Anfänger als auch für erfahrene Roboterentwickler die passenden Bewerbe. Neben der Möglichkeit seine Ideen und Entwicklungen in einem internationalem Teilnehmerfeld auszutauschen wartet auf die Teilnehmer ein stimmungsgeladenes Publikum als Belohnung für die monatelange Arbeit im Spannungsfeld zwischen Informatik, Elektronik, Mechanik und künstlicher Intelligenz.

Roboat

Die ASV Roboat ist das weltweit führende Roboter-Segelboot und wird seit 2006 von einem INNOC Forscherteam entwickelt.

Roboter-Segelboote führen die komplexen Abläufe des Segelns vollautonom und ohne menschliches Zutun durch. Angefangen von der Berechnung der optimalen Route anhand von Wetterdaten bis hin zur selbstständigen Durchführung von Wende und Halse sind autonome Segelboote durch die Analyse von Sensordaten mittels künstlicher Intelligenz fähig, jedes beliebige Ziel anzusegeln. Lediglich die Eingabe der Zielkoordinaten erfolgt durch einen Menschen.

Das Team hat zahlreiche internationale Wettbewerbe gewonnen und ist zur Zeit Weltmeister im Robote-Segeln.

Mögliche Einsatzgebiete der Roboat-Technologie

  • Intelligente Sensor-Bojen
  • Sicherheit auf Segelschiffen
  • CO2-neutrale Frachtenbeförderung
  • Aufklärung und Überwachung
  • Boot als Segeltrainer
  • Komfort an Bord
  • Versorgungsschiff

Happylab

Das Happylab ist Treffpunkt und Werkstatt für technikinteressierte Jugendliche und Erwachsene in Wien. Hier können Ideen in entspannter Atmosphäre entstehen, diskutiert und sofort umgesetzt werden. Schau einfach vorbei!

Happylab Grundsätze

  • Sinnvolle Freizeitbeschäftigung
  • Niederschwellige Nutzung
  • Freier Zugang
  • Keine fachliche Einschränkung
  • Explizit keine Vorkenntnisse notwendig
  • Selbstbestimmtes Lernen
  • Bottom-Up: Schwerpunktsetzung durch die Community

Wie kann ich das Happylab nutzen?

Du möchtest dich mit Technikinteressierten austauschen? Du möchtest deine Ideen einfach umsetzen? Dir fehlt der nötige Platz zum basteln und entwickeln? Du brauchst für deine Projekte spezielles Equipment? Du arbeitest lieber gemeinsam?

Das Happylab ist täglich rund um die Uhr nutzbar. Wenn du zum ersten Mal kommst, schaust du am besten bei einem Happy Evening (Mittwoch abends ab 18h) vorbei.